My husband and i are both creative types who are known for our sunday crafternoons. After i told hubby in a non-inspired way i resolved that we would tell our families with a bit more of a creative flare true to ourselves.

We waited until the 6 week mark to tell our families. I know some people say 6 weeks is too early but i knew if something happened i wouldn’t want to deal with it alone. Also, my husbands parents were coming to stay and my early morning sickness combined with my lack of wine drinking would of given me away quick smart.

Resized_20180601_145050Announcement #1: Our first family announcement was to hubby’s parents. They come from a state with plenty of beautiful wine vineyards and always bring new wines to try when they come to visit. The night they arrived we were going out to our favourite local thai restaurant that lets you byo alcohol. We told them we had chosen a nice wine to take with us and gave them the bottle pictured. It says ‘Only the best parents get promoted to Grandparents’. It took them an uncomfortable amount of time to understand what was going on. His mum thought the wine was called grandparents and thought that was a bit odd. His dad came to the rescue soon enough and figured out our little secret and they were both estatic for us. This baby was to be their first grandchild.

20180603_174514
Announcement #2: At the end of the weekend we had a family dinner planned for my mothers birthday with my sisters and their partners. My sisters and i are quite close and talk often so keeping the baby a secret from them had been excruciating. My idea was simple, wear the t-shirt pictured to dinner and not say a word. We all sat down and talked for a while and at about five minutes in my husband was getting very anxious as no one had noticed yet. I told him to be patient and wait. Our snickering caught my oldest sisters attention and she started looking at my top with a little bit more interest. Finally they worked it out and there was no more secrets!

I ordered this top from vistaprint and organised express delivery. The whole process took about 3 days from order to delivery! I went with the soft cotton tshirt rather than the standard tshirt and it was very comfy and a great fit.

 

Announcement #3: Now it was time to tell my dad! We decided to wait until our ultrasound booked the next friday. Being a wine lover like hubby’s parents we planned to use the same idea however we never made it that far.

For those wondering how i told my mum i called her the minute after i told hubby as there was no way i could keep the secret from my mum!